Ends on

NWSA offers an annual $1,000 Alison Piepmeier book award for a groundbreaking monograph in women, gender, and sexuality studies that makes significant contributions to feminist disability studies scholarship thanks to a gift from Susan Shaw, Patti Duncan, Jane Nichols, Kryn Feehling-Burton, and Nancy Barbour. The donation comes from the contributor budget from a forthcoming ABC-CLIO encyclopedia of women’s lives worldwide. This prize honors Alison Piepmeier, an active member and leader of NWSA whose scholarship examined the intersection of feminist and disability studies, with a particular emphasis on reproductive decisions and disabilities and parenting and disabilities.

Basic Guidelines

  • Must be a current individual NWSA member (including co-authors)
  • Books considered must have a first date of US publication between May 1, 2019 and April 30, 2020
  • Must complete the online application
  • Must send five copies of the book to the NWSA office (address below)
  • Anthologies will not be considered
  • Scholars with disabilities, scholars of color, and LGBTQ scholars are especially encouraged to apply.

Suggested topics for feminist disability studies include but are not limited to:     

  • Reproductive justice and disabilities
  • Racialized representations of disabilities
  • Queer experiences of disabilities
  • Mothering and disabilities
  • Disabilities activism
  • Media representations of disabilities
  • Gender, sport, and disabilities
  • Disabilities and the body
  • Disabilities, sex, and sexuality
  • Disabilities in politics and policy
  • Disabilities and technologies


To complete your application, you must send 5 copies of their book to:
National Women’s Studies Association
1720 W. Division Street
Chicago, IL 60622
ATTN: NWSA Piepmeier Book Prize
Books must be received by June 15th.

Please note: Unfortunately, we cannot return books sent to NWSA. 

We use Submittable to accept and review our submissions.